Rachel's Deception By Karen Ann Hopkins – Blog Tour & Giveaway

Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links.

Rachel's Deception Blog Tour BannerBook Summary
Rachel's DeceptionGrowing up Amish is difficult…but leaving it behind is even harder.

Noah was Amish…Rose wasn’t. Being together should have been impossible. But somehow they found a way to make it work. They are finally a family, but their happily-ever-after is still a long off. Will Rose and her friends be able to force real change in the community?

Karen Ann Hopkins returns with a gripping new book in the YA Temptation series. The powerful family saga continues with Rachel’s Deception, as events spiral out of control in the sleepy farming community of Meadowview. And Rachel Miller has her own secrets to hide. Noah’s younger sister has been living a double life. That is, until Justin Cameron, Rose’s little brother, catches her in the act. Rachel is not the obedient Amish girl that her sister was, and her rebelliousness takes her to a very dangerous world. A world that only her true friends can help her escape from.

As Rachel questions all she has been taught about love, family, and commitment, Rose discovers what it really means to be shunned. And an evil shadow looms on the horizon, threatening not only Rose, but everyone she holds dear.

Add to Goodreads | AmazonBarnes & Noble
Rachel’s Deception is on sale during the blog tour for $0.99! Don’t miss it!

Book Review

Kindle Deal for Rachel's DeceptionDisclaimer, I did not read the first three books of the Temptation Series. With that being said, Rachel’s Deception is actually a spin-off of the first three books so I didn’t feel like I was completely lost. Karen Ann Hopkins does an excellent job of filling in the details from the get-go and explains what we’ve missed if we haven’t read the first three books.

The book starts out talking with Levi who ultimately becomes a very important part of this book. I read the book over a week and honestly forgot about him until the end where the book cycles back around to him. While most would consider this not the best situation to be in, it actually pulled me in more to finish the book when we learned more about him.

Karen Ann Hopkins does a great job explaining the Amish culture throughout the book. It helps as certain things take place to know a little bit of back story and how it varies from Amish community to Amish community. The details she provides helps give readers a great view of what the Amish community of Meadowview is like and how it can mix into the English communities around it.

My heart went out to Justin as he started to fall in love with Rachel. She clearly is torn as to which direction she wants to go in life but as Rose encourages Justin to step back it’s clear that he is in love with Rachel from the very start. I spent the whole book hoping they end up together and now I can’t wait for the next one in the series to find out what happens next.

The only part about the book that I struggled with was the back and forth between characters. Karen Ann Hopkins did a GREAT job lining up the events so you never felt like you missed something, but at the same time it took me a couple of chapters to line up each of the characters and how they would play a role in the book.

This was a great change of pace for me in terms of types of books I had been reading. I loved the look into the Amish culture and the storyline that went throughout the book. Now I feel the need to go back and read the first three books!

About the Author

Karen Ann HopkinsKaren Ann Hopkins resides in northern Kentucky with her family on a farm that boasts a menagerie of horses, goats, peacocks, chickens, ducks, rabbits, dogs and cats. Karen’s main job is home schooling the kids, but she finds time to give riding lessons, coach a youth equestrian drill team, and of course, write. She was inspired to create her first book, Temptation, by the Amish community she lived in. The experiential knowledge she gained through her interactions with her neighbors drove her to create the story of the star-crossed lovers, Rose and Noah.

Karen grew up about a mile from Lake Ontario in Upstate New York. She was bitten by the horse bug at the age of five, and after diligently taking riding lessons for several years, was rewarded with her first horse at the age of eleven. The feisty horse’s name was Lady, a Quarter Horse-Thoroughbred cross, who became Karen’s steadfast companion. Through the years, the constant force in her life was horses. Eventually, she found her place as a riding instructor herself. Before accepting her fate in the barnyard, she worked a short stint as a paralegal, traveled abroad, and guided tourists on horseback riding tours in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee.

Karen is currently working on her Amish mystery series, Serenity’s Plain Secrets, along with the YA paranormal/fantasy series, The Wings of War. Karen is also excited to announce the Temptation series has been optioned for TV by Pilgrim Studios and is available on Audible.

Author Links: WebsiteGoodreadsTwitterFacebook | Instagram

Temptation Series
Temptation (Book 1) Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound
Belonging (Book 2) Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound
Forever  (Book 3)  Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Indiebound


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclaimer: This post may contain affiliate links.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge